Cottage food law & license in Hidalgo County, TX
What's in the Hidalgo County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Hidalgo County?
More Hidalgo County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Hidalgo County?
How to start in Hidalgo County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Hidalgo County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Hidalgo County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Hidalgo County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Hidalgo County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Texas county rules quiz
Hidalgo County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Hidalgo County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Hidalgo County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?
Hidalgo County is a top-100 county by population in Texas (pop. 873,167). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Hidalgo County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Hidalgo County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Hidalgo County follows Texas state baseline. Texas strong preemption prevents local health department regulation of cottage food. The county is largely urban (McAllen metro area); most residents fall under incorporated municipal jurisdiction. No Hidalgo County-specific cottage food ordinance found. The DSHS cottage food page and texascottagefoodlaw.com confirm the general framework. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Hidalgo County?
Tier: Great
Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Texas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Hidalgo County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Hidalgo County
State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq. (SB 541, 2025; cap $150,000)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Texas strong state preemption: local health departments cannot regulate cottage food production, require permits, fees, or inspections. Must be produced in private home kitchen. Food handler certification required.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified; standard sanitation applies
- Water supply
- Potable water required
- Handwashing
- Food handler certification from accredited program required
- Food storage
- Standard food storage practices
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No local health department inspection authority. DSHS/local health authority may only act to prevent immediate and serious threat to human life.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No municipal zoning ordinance can prevent a cottage food operation. However, city/county nuisance, traffic, parking rules still apply. Cities within Hidalgo County (Edinburg, McAllen, Pharr, Mission, etc.) may have home occupation permit requirements for business activities. Contact the applicable city's planning department.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer including online with personal delivery by operator/household member within Texas. Since SB 541 (2025), wholesale to registered cottage food vendors permitted for non-TCS foods. No mail/carrier shipping. $150,000 annual cap.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.; municipal home occupation ordinances vary
Hidalgo County follows Texas state baseline. Texas strong preemption prevents local health department regulation of cottage food. The county is largely urban (McAllen metro area); most residents fall under incorporated municipal jurisdiction. No Hidalgo County-specific cottage food ordinance found. The DSHS cottage food page and texascottagefoodlaw.com confirm the general framework.
What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.
Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Hidalgo County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHidalgo County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Hidalgo County, Texas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Hidalgo County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Hidalgo County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Hidalgo County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Hidalgo County. Ask Hidalgo County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?
$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Hidalgo County?
Apply through Hidalgo County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Hidalgo County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Hidalgo County?
Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Hidalgo County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No local health department inspection authority. DSHS/local health authority may only act to prevent immediate and serious threat to human life.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHidalgo County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Hidalgo County.
Download county reportFull Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Hidalgo County.
Texas law pageFree email alerts
Hidalgo County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Hidalgo County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Hidalgo County page based on?
Where to verify Hidalgo County rules
Hidalgo County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Hidalgo County This county | Cameron County | Starr County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified; standard sanitation applies | No specific state restriction in cottage food law. | No specific statutory prohibition; food handler training covers safe practices |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer including online with personal delivery by operator/household member within Texas. Since SB 541 (2025), wholesale to reg… | Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales allowed. Online sales and mail delivery permitted. Products may be sold at direct sales only cha… | Direct and indirect sales allowed (SB 541 added cottage food vendors for wholesale). Sales at home, farmers markets, events, and retail sto… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | No |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | No |
| Restrictions | Texas strong state preemption: local health departments cannot regulate cottage food production, require permits, fees, or inspections. Mus… | Texas cottage food law (Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.) requires no license, permit, or registration. No state inspection. Annual gr… | Cottage food must be produced in the home kitchen of the operator's primary domestic residence. Local health departments have NO authority … |
| Food storage | Standard food storage practices | Non-TCS shelf-stable products. Acidified and fermented foods allowed. | Non-TCS foods only; proper storage required; prohibited foods include meat, poultry, seafood, ice cream, low-acid canned goods |
| Population | 873,167 | 421,854 | 65,716 |
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Other Texas counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Hidalgo County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Hidalgo County bakers?
Hidalgo County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Hidalgo County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Hidalgo County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Hidalgo County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Hidalgo County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Hidalgo County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Hidalgo County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Hidalgo County
- Check with Hidalgo County business license office
- Check with Hidalgo County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Texas
- Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Hidalgo County
- Check with Hidalgo County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Texas
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Hidalgo County
- Check with Hidalgo County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Texas · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Texas · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.