Cottage food law & license in Cherokee County, TX

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Cherokee County Permits 101 for Cherokee County, Texas (73 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Texas cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Cherokee County permit report


How to start in Cherokee County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Cherokee County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Cherokee County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Cherokee County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Cherokee County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Cherokee County is a county in Texas (pop. 50,824). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Cherokee County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Cherokee County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Texas has a highly permissive cottage food law. No Cherokee County-specific restrictions found. County seat is Rusk; county is a rural East Texas county. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Cherokee County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Cherokee County.
Download county reportFull Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Great
Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Texas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Cherokee County
State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must produce in home kitchen. All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (as of SB 541, 2025). No meat/poultry/seafood, ice/ice cream, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC products, or raw milk products.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Handwashing
- Standard food safety practices; not specifically required by state cottage food law.
- Food storage
- Products must be non-TCS; proper storage implied.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No license, inspection, or registration required. DSHS or local health authority may only act to prevent an immediate and serious threat to human life or health.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No specific Cherokee County cottage food ordinances found. City of Rusk and other municipalities within Cherokee County have their own zoning codes. Home occupation permits may be required by local zoning. Recommend verifying with Cherokee County and City of Rusk planning departments.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Sales allowed directly to consumers in Texas, online, at farmers markets, through cottage food vendors (SB 541, 2025), and by mail/delivery within Texas.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Relevant code section
- Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.; SB 541 (2025)
Texas has a highly permissive cottage food law. No Cherokee County-specific restrictions found. County seat is Rusk; county is a rural East Texas county.
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.
Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Cherokee County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Cherokee County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (73 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Cherokee County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Cherokee County, Texas?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Cherokee County cottage food ordinances found. City of Rusk and other municipalities within Cherokee County have their own zoning codes. Home occupation permits may be required by local zoning. Recommend verifying with Cherokee County and City of Rusk planning departments. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Texas guide at https://crosodo.com/states/texas.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Cherokee County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No license, inspection, or registration required. DSHS or local health authority may only act to prevent an immediate and serious threat to human life or health.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Cherokee County?
Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?
Texas state law lists cottage food sales at 150000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Cherokee County?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Cherokee County cottage food ordinances found. City of Rusk and other municipalities within Cherokee County have their own zoning codes. Home occupation permits may be required by local zoning. Recommend verifying with Cherokee County and City of Rusk planning departments.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages).

Where to verify Cherokee County rules
Cherokee County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Cherokee County This county | Rusk County | Anderson County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state cottage food law. | No specific TX or Rusk County restriction. | No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Sales allowed directly to consumers in Texas, online, at farmers markets, through cottage food vendors (SB 541, 2025), and by mail/delivery… | Direct and some indirect sales. Online orders permitted. | Almost all channels permitted including direct to consumer, indirect sales, farmers markets, online, delivery, and through a 'cottage food … |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must produce in home kitchen. All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (as of SB 541, 2025). No meat/poultry/seafood, ic… | All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual cap $150,000. No inspection or registration required. | Texas cottage food law is highly permissive. No registration, no license, no inspection required. $150,000 annual gross income cap (raised … |
| Food storage | Products must be non-TCS; proper storage implied. | Non-TCS products. Prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice/frozen treats, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC, raw milk. | Non-TCS, non-refrigerated products required. |
| Population | 50,824 | 52,755 | 58,077 |
Cherokee County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Cherokee County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Texas counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Cherokee County, Texas
Reach home bakers in Cherokee County, Texas. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.