Cottage food law & license in Rusk County, TX
What's in the Rusk County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Rusk County?
More Rusk County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Rusk County?
How to start in Rusk County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Rusk County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Rusk County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Rusk County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Rusk County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Texas county rules quiz
Rusk County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Rusk County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Rusk County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?
Rusk County is a county in Texas (pop. 52,755). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Rusk County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Rusk County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Rusk County is in the Piney Woods of East Texas. No county-specific cottage food rules found. State TX baseline applies. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Rusk County?
Tier: Great
Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Texas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Rusk County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Rusk County
State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq. (amended by SB 541, 2025; cap $150,000)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual cap $150,000. No inspection or registration required.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific TX or Rusk County restriction.
- Water supply
- No formal requirement.
- Handwashing
- No formal requirement.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS products. Prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice/frozen treats, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC, raw milk.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Only to prevent immediate and serious public health threat.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Rusk County is an East Texas county (Henderson, near Kilgore oil fields). Texas state law preempts local health regulation. Contact Rusk County government or City of Henderson for home occupation/business license requirements.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct and some indirect sales. Online orders permitted.
- Max employees in home
- TX statute does not specify a cap.
- Relevant code section
- Tex. Health & Safety Code §437.001 et seq.; no Rusk County-specific ordinance identified
Rusk County is in the Piney Woods of East Texas. No county-specific cottage food rules found. State TX baseline applies.
What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.
Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Rusk County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeRusk County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Rusk County, Texas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Rusk County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Rusk County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Rusk County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Rusk County. Ask Rusk County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?
$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Rusk County?
Apply through Rusk County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Rusk County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Rusk County?
Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Rusk County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Only to prevent immediate and serious public health threat.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeRusk County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Rusk County.
Download county reportFull Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Rusk County.
Texas law pageFree email alerts
Rusk County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Rusk County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Rusk County page based on?
Where to verify Rusk County rules
Rusk County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Rusk County This county | Cherokee County | Nacogdoches County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific TX or Rusk County restriction. | Not specified in state cottage food law. | No specific statutory prohibition; food handler training covers safe practices |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct and some indirect sales. Online orders permitted. | Sales allowed directly to consumers in Texas, online, at farmers markets, through cottage food vendors (SB 541, 2025), and by mail/delivery… | Direct sales and wholesale to registered cottage food vendors allowed (SB 541, 2025). Sales at home, farmers markets, events, and retail st… |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Conditional | No |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | No |
| Restrictions | All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual cap $150,000. No inspection or registration required. | Must produce in home kitchen. All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (as of SB 541, 2025). No meat/poultry/seafood, ic… | Cottage food must be produced in the home kitchen of operator's primary domestic residence. Local health departments have NO authority to i… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS products. Prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice/frozen treats, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC, raw milk. | Products must be non-TCS; proper storage implied. | Non-TCS foods primarily; proper storage required |
| Population | 52,755 | 50,824 | 64,768 |
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Other Texas counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Rusk County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Rusk County bakers?
Rusk County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Rusk County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Rusk County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Rusk County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Rusk County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Rusk County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Rusk County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Rusk County
- Check with Rusk County business license office
- Check with Rusk County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Texas
- Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Rusk County
- Check with Rusk County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Texas
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Rusk County
- Check with Rusk County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Texas · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Texas · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.