Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Texas Report Guide · 728 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Marshall · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Harrison County, TX

Can I sell cottage food from home in Harrison County, Texas?
Yes — Texas allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: 150000). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Texas Department of State Health Services and the Harrison County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Harrison County Permits 101 for Harrison County, Texas (74 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Harrison County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Harrison County?

Texas cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Harrison County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Harrison County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Harrison County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Harrison County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Harrison County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Harrison County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Harrison County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Harrison County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Harrison County is a county in Texas (pop. 69,098). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Harrison County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Harrison County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Texas Great-tier state with $150,000 cap. Harrison County is in East Texas near Louisiana border. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Harrison County cottage food reports

What permits in Harrison County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Harrison County county cottage food report
Harrison County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Harrison County.

Download county report
Cover of Texas cottage food law PDF report
Texas state report

Full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Texas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Harrison County

State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Annual sales cap $150,000. No food handler cert required. No state registration required. No inspection required. Non-TCS foods only. Limited indirect sales at designated venues (farmers markets, roadside stands, flea markets).
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law
Water supply
Standard residential water supply
Handwashing
Good sanitation practices implied
Food storage
Appropriate storage for shelf-stable products
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; complaint-based possible
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No county govt URL provided. Harrison County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Marshall has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and limited indirect sales at designated venues; delivery by producer permitted in-state
Max employees in home
Not specified
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Not identified
Local notes

Texas Great-tier state with $150,000 cap. Harrison County is in East Texas near Louisiana border. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county.

Texas statute (state law)

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations

Citation: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.

Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Harrison County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Harrison County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (74 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Harrison County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Harrison County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Harrison County, Texas?

Home occupation permit: Varies. No county govt URL provided. Harrison County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Marshall has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Texas guide at https://crosodo.com/states/texas.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Harrison County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based possible. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Harrison County?

Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?

Texas state law lists cottage food sales at 150000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Harrison County?

Home occupation permit: Varies. No county govt URL provided. Harrison County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Marshall has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Harrison County vs. bordering counties

RegulationHarrison County
This county
Rusk CountyUpshur County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state lawNo specific TX or Rusk County restriction.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalYes
Delivery / pickupDirect and limited indirect sales at designated venues; delivery by producer permitted in-stateDirect and some indirect sales. Online orders permitted.Direct-to-consumer sales anywhere in Texas including home pickup, farmers markets, events, and online (with personal delivery). Non-TCS foo…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesNo
Local business licenseVariesVariesNo
RestrictionsAnnual sales cap $150,000. No food handler cert required. No state registration required. No inspection required. Non-TCS foods only. Limit…All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual cap $150,000. No inspection or registration required.Texas cottage food law (SB 541, effective Sept 1 2025) allows sale of nearly all non-TCS foods plus TCS foods directly to consumers. Annual…
Food storageAppropriate storage for shelf-stable productsNon-TCS products. Prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice/frozen treats, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC, raw milk.Non-TCS foods unrestricted; TCS foods must be held at proper temperatures (≤41°F or ≥135°F).
Population69,09852,75541,261
Crosodo Forum

Harrison County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Harrison County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Texas counties

Texas
Pop. 4.73M
Texas
Pop. 2.6M
Texas
Pop. 2.11M
Texas
Pop. 2.01M
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Harrison County, Texas

Reach home bakers in Harrison County, Texas. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Harrison County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.