crosodo
County · Seat: Denton · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Denton County, TX

Inside the permit report

What's in the Denton County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Denton County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Denton County
Table of contents
Your Denton County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Denton County?

All products in Texas →
More Denton County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Denton County?
Start here

How to start in Denton County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Denton County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Denton County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Denton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Denton County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Denton County rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Test yourself on Denton County rules

A free 10-question quiz generated from verified Denton County and Texas data. Pass at 80% for a Crosodo Verified badge.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Denton County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?

Denton County is a top-100 county by population in Texas (pop. 914,870). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Denton County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Denton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Texas is one of the strongest state preemption states for cottage food. Local health departments explicitly cannot require permits, fees, or inspections. SB 541 (2025) raised cap to $150,000 and added cottage food vendor pathway. The texascottagefoodlaw.com resource confirms no municipal zoning ordinance can prevent a CFO. Denton County is heavily suburban with many incorporated municipalities — check applicable city for home occupation permit (separate from food safety regulation). DSHS registration available optionally for label ID number in lieu of home address. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Denton County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Texas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Denton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Denton County

State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq. (SB 541, 2025; cap raised to $150,000)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
State law preempts local health department regulation of cottage food production. No county/city can require permits, fees, or inspections for cottage food. Must be produced in a private home kitchen. Annual gross sales cap $150,000 (inflation-adjusted CPI-U from 2025). Food handler certification required.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified; standard sanitation applies
Water supply
Potable water required; state baseline applies
Handwashing
Food handler certification from accredited program required under state law
Food storage
Standard food storage practices; no additional county requirements
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
Local health departments have NO regulatory authority to inspect cottage food operations. DSHS or local health authority may only act to prevent immediate and serious threat to human life or health.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Municipal zoning ordinances cannot prevent a cottage food operation in a home. However, city/county zoning rules on traffic, parking, noise, and nuisance still apply. Cities within Denton County (Denton, Lewisville, Flower Mound, etc.) may have home occupation permit requirements. Contact the City of Denton Development Services or applicable city planning department. Denton County Planning may apply for unincorporated areas.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Broad direct-to-consumer sales permitted: in-person, online (with personal delivery by operator/household member within Texas), farmers markets, roadside stands. Online sales allowed if operator personally delivers. No mail/carrier shipping. Since SB 541 (2025), wholesale to registered cottage food vendors also permitted for non-TCS foods.
Max employees in home
unknown
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.; municipal zoning ordinances vary by city
Local notes

Texas is one of the strongest state preemption states for cottage food. Local health departments explicitly cannot require permits, fees, or inspections. SB 541 (2025) raised cap to $150,000 and added cottage food vendor pathway. The texascottagefoodlaw.com resource confirms no municipal zoning ordinance can prevent a CFO. Denton County is heavily suburban with many incorporated municipalities — check applicable city for home occupation permit (separate from food safety regulation). DSHS registration available optionally for label ID number in lieu of home address.

What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas statute (state law)

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations

Citation: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.

Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Denton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Denton County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Denton County, Texas?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Denton County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Denton County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Denton County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Denton County. Ask Denton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?

$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Denton County?

Apply via Denton County environmental health (dentoncounty.gov). Official link: https://www.dentoncounty.gov/health. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Denton County?

Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Denton County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: Local health departments have NO regulatory authority to inspect cottage food operations. DSHS or local health authority may only act to prevent immediate and serious threat to human life or health.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Denton County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Denton County cottage food reports

What permits in Denton County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Denton County county cottage food report
Denton County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Denton County.

Download county report
Cover of Texas cottage food law PDF report
Texas state report

Full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Denton County.

Texas law page

Free email alerts

Denton County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Denton County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Denton County page based on?
Quick comparison

Denton County vs. bordering counties

RegulationDenton County
This county
Collin CountyGrayson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified; standard sanitation appliesState baseline appliesNot prohibited by state law; kitchen sanitation required.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalYesConditional
Delivery / pickupBroad direct-to-consumer sales permitted: in-person, online (with personal delivery by operator/household member within Texas), farmers mar…State law allows direct and indirect sales, online sales with in-person/household delivery. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (SB 541, 2025)…Sales permitted from home, farmers markets, online, and third-party delivery within Texas. Indirect retail/restaurant sales allowed with re…
Home occupation permitConditionalVaries by cityVaries
Local business licenseVariesVaries by cityVaries
RestrictionsState law preempts local health department regulation of cottage food production. No county/city can require permits, fees, or inspections …Collin County follows state cottage food law. No county-level health inspection authority for cottage food operations. Incorporated cities …Annual gross income capped at $150,000 (SB 541, 2025). No registration, permit, or inspection required. Health departments cannot routinely…
Food storageStandard food storage practices; no additional county requirementsState baseline appliesNon-TCS foods only; stored in sealed food-safe containers.
Population914,8701,079,153137,008
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Texas counties

Texas
Pop. 4.73M
Texas
Pop. 2.6M
Texas
Pop. 2.11M
Texas
Pop. 2.01M
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Denton County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Denton County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Denton County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Denton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Denton County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Denton County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Denton County, Texas?
Yes — Texas allows cottage food sales. $150,000 annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Texas Department of State Health Services and the Denton County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Denton County?
Your Denton County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Denton County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Denton County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Denton County environmental health(dentoncounty.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Denton County? State vs county rules and pets
Texas rule (statewide)Denton County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Denton County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Denton County

    • Check with Denton County business license office
    • Check with Denton County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Texas DSHS — Texas Cottage Food Production

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Texas

    • Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Denton County

    • Check with Denton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Texas

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Denton County

    • Check with Denton County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Texas · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

    Texas · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.