Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Wisconsin Report Guide · 229 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Wisconsin Rapids · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Wood County, WI

Can I sell cottage food from home in Wood County, Wisconsin?
Yes — Wisconsin allows cottage food sales under a Freedom-tier law (cap: Tiered). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection and the Wood County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Wood County Permits 101 for Wood County, Wisconsin (69 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Wood County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Wood County?

Wisconsin cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Wood County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Wood County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Wood County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Wood County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Wisconsin cottage food rules in Wood County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Wisconsin cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Two distinct pathways: (1) Statute §97.29(2)(b)2 allows unlicensed home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH 4.6 or lower) sold at community events or farmers' markets, capped at $5,000/year; (2) The Kivirist court order (2017) allows home bakers of good character to sell nonhazardous, shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume without a license, with no stated dollar cap. DATCP may not enforce licensure against such bakers.). Wood County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Wood County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Wood County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Wisconsin disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Wisconsin label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was made in a private home not subject to state licensing or inspection.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Wood County is a county in Wisconsin (pop. 74,138). Under Wisconsin's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Wood County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Wood County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Wisconsin's cottage food landscape is shaped by case law (Kivirist v. DATCP, 2017) and the Pickle Bill (§97.29(2)(b)2). The 2024 Wisconsin Cottage Food Association v. DATCP Court of Appeals decision clarified the Kivirist exception does NOT extend to unbaked goods. Wisconsin Supreme Court denied review. No Wood County-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Wood County cottage food reports

What permits in Wood County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Wood County county cottage food report
Wood County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Wood County.

Download county report
Cover of Wisconsin cottage food law PDF report
Wisconsin state report

Full Wisconsin License & Permit Guide (229 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Wisconsin has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Wisconsin cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Wood County

State baseline: Wis. Stat. §97.29 (Pickle Bill); Kivirist v. DATCP (2017 court order)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Two pathways: (1) Pickle Bill (§97.29(2)(b)2): home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH ≤ 4.6) sold at community events or farmers markets, capped at $5,000/year. (2) Kivirist court order: home bakers of good character may sell nonhazardous shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume without a license. 2024 Court of Appeals decision clarified Kivirist does NOT extend to unbaked goods (chocolates, fudge, candy).
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in statute. Good sanitary practices required.
Water supply
Potable water required.
Handwashing
No food handler certification required.
Food storage
Shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately. TCS foods require food processing plant license.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
DATCP may investigate upon complaint. Kivirist order restricts DATCP enforcement against qualifying home bakers.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No permit required for Kivirist-qualifying home bakers or Pickle Bill sellers. Wood County may have local zoning home occupation requirements. No Wood County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Pickle Bill: sales at community events or farmers markets only, $5,000/year cap. Kivirist bakers: direct to consumer, low volume, from home — no stated dollar cap. No internet/mail order for unlicensed bakers.
Max employees in home
Not specified.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Wis. Stat. §97.29. No Wood County-specific code section found.
Local notes

Wisconsin's cottage food landscape is shaped by case law (Kivirist v. DATCP, 2017) and the Pickle Bill (§97.29(2)(b)2). The 2024 Wisconsin Cottage Food Association v. DATCP Court of Appeals decision clarified the Kivirist exception does NOT extend to unbaked goods. Wisconsin Supreme Court denied review. No Wood County-specific overrides found.

Wisconsin statute (state law)

Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 97 Food, §97.29 Food processing plants (cottage food exemption at §97.29(2)(b)2); supplemented by Kivirist v. DATCP court order (2017) for home bakers

Citation: Wis. Stat. §97.29
Verbatim excerpt

97.29(2)(b)2. A person is not required to obtain a license under this section to sell at retail food products that the person prepares and cans at home in this state if all of the following apply: a. The food products are pickles or other processed vegetables or fruits with an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower. b. The person sells the food products at a community or social event or a farmers' market in this state. c. The person receives less than $5,000 per year from the sale of the food products. d. The person displays a sign at the place of sale stating: "These canned goods are homemade and not subject to state inspection." e. Each container of food product that is sold is labeled with the name and address of the person who prepared and canned the food product, the date on which the food product was canned, the statement "This product was made in a private home not subject to state licensing or inspection.", and a list of ingredients in descending order of prominence. If any ingredient originates from milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soybeans, the list of ingredients shall include the common name of the ingredient. [The Kivirist v. DATCP circuit court order (2017) additionally enjoined enforcement of food processing and retail food establishment licensure against home bakers of good character who sell nonhazardous, shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume, without a stated dollar cap. This court order was not appealed by DATCP and remains good law. A subsequent Court of Appeals decision (2024) held that this exception does NOT extend to unbaked nonpotentially hazardous homemade goods (chocolates, fudges, candies, etc.).]

Source: docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.29
Full Wisconsin License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Wood County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Wood County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (69 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Wood County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Wood County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Wood County, Wisconsin?

Home occupation permit: Varies. No permit required for Kivirist-qualifying home bakers or Pickle Bill sellers. Wood County may have local zoning home occupation requirements. No Wood County-specific cottage food ordinance found. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Wisconsin guide at https://crosodo.com/states/wisconsin.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Wood County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: DATCP may investigate upon complaint. Kivirist order restricts DATCP enforcement against qualifying home bakers.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Wisconsin cottage food law in Wood County?

Two distinct pathways: (1) Statute §97.29(2)(b)2 allows unlicensed home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH 4.6 or lower) sold at community events or farmers' markets, capped at $5,000/year; (2) The Kivirist court order (2017) allows home bakers of good character to sell nonhazardous, shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume without a license, with no stated dollar cap. DATCP may not enforce licensure against such bakers. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Wisconsin, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin state law lists cottage food sales at Tiered. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Wood County?

Home occupation permit: Varies. No permit required for Kivirist-qualifying home bakers or Pickle Bill sellers. Wood County may have local zoning home occupation requirements. No Wood County-specific cottage food ordinance found.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Wisconsin License & Permit Guide (229 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Wisconsin License & Permit Guide (229 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Wood County vs. bordering counties

RegulationWood County
This county
Portage CountyClark County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesConditional
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in statute. Good sanitary practices required.Not specified in state lawNo specific state prohibition for cottage food bakers; standard food safety practices apply.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupPickle Bill: sales at community events or farmers markets only, $5,000/year cap. Kivirist bakers: direct to consumer, low volume, from home…Direct-to-consumer sales; direct delivery by producer permitted in-stateDirect-to-consumer only for Kivirist-covered baked goods. Pickle Bill allows farmers market and community event sales only (up to $5,000/ye…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsTwo pathways: (1) Pickle Bill (§97.29(2)(b)2): home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH ≤ 4.6) sold at community events or f…No food handler cert required. No registration or inspection required. Direct-to-consumer sales only; no internet sales to out-of-state; no…Wisconsin has a case-law-driven cottage food framework: (1) The statutory 'Pickle Bill' (§97.29(2)(b)2) allows home-canned pickles and acid…
Food storageShelf-stable products must be stored appropriately. TCS foods require food processing plant license.Appropriate storage for shelf-stable productsShelf-stable, non-potentially-hazardous baked goods only; proper storage required.
Population74,13870,28134,182
Crosodo Forum

Wood County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Wood County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Wisconsin counties

Wisconsin
Pop. 933K
Wisconsin
Pop. 560K
Wisconsin
Pop. 407K
Wisconsin
Pop. 268K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Wood County, Wisconsin

Reach home bakers in Wood County, Wisconsin. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Wisconsin's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Wood County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.