crosodo
County · Seat: Stevens Point · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Portage County, WI

Inside the permit report

What's in the Portage County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Portage County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Portage County
Table of contents
Your Portage County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Portage County?

All products in Wisconsin →
More Portage County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Portage County?
Start here

How to start in Portage County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Wisconsin cottage food rules in Portage County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Wisconsin cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Two distinct pathways: (1) Statute §97.29(2)(b)2 allows unlicensed home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH 4.6 or lower) sold at community events or farmers' markets, capped at $5,000/year; (2) The Kivirist court order (2017) allows home bakers of good character to sell nonhazardous, shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume without a license, with no stated dollar cap. DATCP may not enforce licensure against such bakers.). Portage County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Portage County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Portage County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Wisconsin disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Wisconsin label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was made in a private home not subject to state licensing or inspection.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Wisconsin county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Wisconsin county rules quiz

Portage County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Wisconsin statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Portage County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Portage County cottage food rules with Wisconsin agencies?

Portage County is a county in Wisconsin (pop. 70,281). Under Wisconsin's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Portage County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Portage County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Wisconsin Freedom-tier state. Wisconsin has tiered sales cap system. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Portage County?
State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Wisconsin has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Wisconsin cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Portage County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Portage County

State baseline: Wis. Stat. §97.29

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
No food handler cert required. No registration or inspection required. Direct-to-consumer sales only; no internet sales to out-of-state; no retail store sales except very limited allowances. Tiered annual sales cap applies. Non-TCS foods only.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law
Water supply
Standard residential water supply
Handwashing
Good sanitation practices implied
Food storage
Appropriate storage for shelf-stable products
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; complaint-based possible
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No county govt URL provided. Portage County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Stevens Point has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct-to-consumer sales; direct delivery by producer permitted in-state
Max employees in home
Not specified
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Not identified
Local notes

Wisconsin Freedom-tier state. Wisconsin has tiered sales cap system. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county.

What does the Wisconsin cottage food statute say?
Wisconsin statute (state law)

Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 97 Food, §97.29 Food processing plants (cottage food exemption at §97.29(2)(b)2); supplemented by Kivirist v. DATCP court order (2017) for home bakers

Citation: Wis. Stat. §97.29
Verbatim excerpt

97.29(2)(b)2. A person is not required to obtain a license under this section to sell at retail food products that the person prepares and cans at home in this state if all of the following apply: a. The food products are pickles or other processed vegetables or fruits with an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower. b. The person sells the food products at a community or social event or a farmers' market in this state. c. The person receives less than $5,000 per year from the sale of the food products. d. The person displays a sign at the place of sale stating: "These canned goods are homemade and not subject to state inspection." e. Each container of food product that is sold is labeled with the name and address of the person who prepared and canned the food product, the date on which the food product was canned, the statement "This product was made in a private home not subject to state licensing or inspection.", and a list of ingredients in descending order of prominence. If any ingredient originates from milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soybeans, the list of ingredients shall include the common name of the ingredient. [The Kivirist v. DATCP circuit court order (2017) additionally enjoined enforcement of food processing and retail food establishment licensure against home bakers of good character who sell nonhazardous, shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume, without a stated dollar cap. This court order was not appealed by DATCP and remains good law. A subsequent Court of Appeals decision (2024) held that this exception does NOT extend to unbaked nonpotentially hazardous homemade goods (chocolates, fudges, candies, etc.).]

Source: docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.29 →
Full Wisconsin License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Portage County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Portage County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Portage County, Wisconsin?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Portage County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Portage County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Portage County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Portage County. Ask Portage County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Wisconsin?

Sales caps are set by Wisconsin state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Portage County environmental health.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Portage County?

Apply through Portage County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Portage County, Wisconsin — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Wisconsin cottage food law in Portage County?

Two distinct pathways: (1) Statute §97.29(2)(b)2 allows unlicensed home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH 4.6 or lower) sold at community events or farmers' markets, capped at $5,000/year; (2) The Kivirist court order (2017) allows home bakers of good character to sell nonhazardous, shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at low volume without a license, with no stated dollar cap. DATCP may not enforce licensure against such bakers. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Wisconsin, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Portage County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based possible. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Portage County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Wisconsin report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Portage County cottage food reports

What permits in Portage County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Portage County county cottage food report
Portage County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Portage County.

Download county report
Cover of Wisconsin cottage food law PDF report
Wisconsin state report

Full Wisconsin License & Permit Guide (229 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Portage County.

Wisconsin law page

Free email alerts

Portage County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Portage County, with Wisconsin statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Portage County page based on?
Quick comparison

Portage County vs. bordering counties

RegulationPortage County
This county
Wood CountyWaupaca County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state lawNot specified in statute. Good sanitary practices required.Not specified in state law.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect-to-consumer sales; direct delivery by producer permitted in-statePickle Bill: sales at community events or farmers markets only, $5,000/year cap. Kivirist bakers: direct to consumer, low volume, from home…Direct-to-consumer sales only for exempt operations. Pickle Bill limits sales to community events and farmers markets for home-canned goods…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNo food handler cert required. No registration or inspection required. Direct-to-consumer sales only; no internet sales to out-of-state; no…Two pathways: (1) Pickle Bill (§97.29(2)(b)2): home-canned pickles and acidified vegetables/fruits (pH ≤ 4.6) sold at community events or f…Under the Kivirist court order (2017), home bakers of good character may sell nonhazardous shelf-stable baked goods direct to consumer at l…
Food storageAppropriate storage for shelf-stable productsShelf-stable products must be stored appropriately. TCS foods require food processing plant license.Products must remain shelf-stable and nonhazardous.
Population70,28174,13851,822
What other Wisconsin counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Wisconsin counties

Wisconsin
Pop. 933K
Wisconsin
Pop. 560K
Wisconsin
Pop. 407K
Wisconsin
Pop. 268K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Portage County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Wisconsin's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Portage County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Portage County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Portage County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Portage County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Portage County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Portage County, Wisconsin?
Yes — Wisconsin allows cottage food sales. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection and the Portage County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Portage County?
Your Portage County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Portage County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Portage County? State vs county rules and pets
Wisconsin rule (statewide)Portage County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Portage County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Portage County

    • Check with Portage County business license office
    • Check with Portage County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Wisconsin DATCP — Licenses and Homemade Baked Goods

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Wisconsin

    • Selling to stores: check with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

    Portage County

    • Check with Portage County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Wisconsin

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

    Portage County

    • Check with Portage County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Wisconsin · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

    Wisconsin · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.