Cottage food law & license in Broomfield County, CO
What's in the Broomfield County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Broomfield County?
More Broomfield County resources
What's new for Colorado cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Broomfield County?
How to start in Broomfield County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Colorado cottage food rules in Broomfield County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Colorado cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit.). Broomfield County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in Broomfield County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Broomfield County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Colorado disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Colorado label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection and that may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish. This product is not intended for resale.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Colorado county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Colorado county rules quiz
Broomfield County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Colorado statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Broomfield County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Broomfield County cottage food rules with Colorado agencies?
Broomfield County is a county in Colorado (pop. 73,946). Under Colorado's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Broomfield County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Broomfield County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Broomfield is a unique combined city and county in Colorado. Local home occupation rules (BMC §17-32-020) directly confirmed from Broomfield Planning Division document: no exterior signs, no exterior storage, dwelling inhabitants only, max 50% of first floor, max 2 patron vehicles, no commercial vehicles. No separate business license required but sales require Sales Tax Department license. Planning Division review required. State cottage food law (C.R.S. §25-4-1614) has $10,000 per-product cap (not total revenue cap). HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) pending in 2026 would expand law if enacted. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Broomfield County?
Tier: Great
Colorado's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Colorado cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Broomfield County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Broomfield County
State baseline: C.R.S. §25-4-1614
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods. $10,000 annual cap per-product (not total revenue). Free CDPHE registration required. Inspection only upon complaint.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute.
- Water supply
- Potable water required.
- Handwashing
- Food handler course required (options: CSU Extension $50, online food handler card ~$10-15, or local health dept course).
- Food storage
- Non-PHF shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Inspections only upon complaint per C.R.S. §25-4-1614.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Broomfield is a combined city and county. Broomfield's zoning code (§17-32-020, B.M.C.) allows home occupations as permitted accessory uses subject to standards: business must be entirely within the dwelling, conducted only by inhabitants, no exterior signs, no exterior storage, no offensive impacts beyond property line, max 2 patron vehicles at a time, no commercial vehicles on site, and max 50% of first floor used for business. Broomfield does not require a separate local business license generally, but sales require a Sales Tax Department license with Planning Division review. Contact Planning Division to confirm home occupation compliance before operating.
- Local business license
- Conditional
- On-site customer pickup
- Conditional
- On-site signage
- No
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales only at state level. Customer pickup from home allowed under home occupation rules but limited to max 2 patron vehicles at a time. No exterior advertising. Online in-state sales permitted.
- Max employees in home
- Only inhabitants of the dwelling may conduct the home occupation. No outside employees allowed.
- Relevant code section
- C.R.S. §25-4-1614 (state cottage food); Broomfield Municipal Code §17-32-020 (home occupations)
Broomfield is a unique combined city and county in Colorado. Local home occupation rules (BMC §17-32-020) directly confirmed from Broomfield Planning Division document: no exterior signs, no exterior storage, dwelling inhabitants only, max 50% of first floor, max 2 patron vehicles, no commercial vehicles. No separate business license required but sales require Sales Tax Department license. Planning Division review required. State cottage food law (C.R.S. §25-4-1614) has $10,000 per-product cap (not total revenue cap). HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) pending in 2026 would expand law if enacted.
What does the Colorado cottage food statute say?
Colorado Cottage Foods Act
Full Colorado License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt25-4-1614. Home kitchens - exemption - food inspection - short title - definitions - rules. (2)(b)(I) A producer is permitted under this section to sell only a limited range of foods that have been produced, processed, or packaged that are nonpotentially hazardous and do not require refrigeration. These foods include pickled fruits and vegetables, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, flour, and baked goods, including candies, fruit empanadas, and tortillas and other nonpotentially hazardous foods. (2)(c) A producer must take a food safety course that includes basic food handling training and is comparable to, or is, a course given by the Colorado state university extension service or a state, county, or district public health agency and must maintain a status of good standing in accordance with the course requirements. (2)(e) This section applies only to producers who earn net revenues of ten thousand dollars or less per calendar year from the sale of each eligible food product produced in the producer's home kitchen. (3)(a) A food product sold under this section must have an affixed label that includes at least: the name of the food product; the producer's name, the address at which the food was prepared, and the producer's current telephone number or electronic mail address; and a statement that reads: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection. This product is not intended for resale."
Source: leg.colorado.gov/bill_files/40283/download →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Broomfield County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBroomfield County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Broomfield County, Colorado?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Broomfield County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Broomfield County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Broomfield County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Broomfield County. Ask Broomfield County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Colorado?
Sales caps are set by Colorado state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Broomfield County environmental health.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Broomfield County?
Apply via Broomfield County environmental health (cdphe.colorado.gov). Official link: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/cottage-foods-act-registration. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Colorado cottage food law in Broomfield County?
Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Colorado, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Broomfield County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Inspections only upon complaint per C.R.S. §25-4-1614.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Colorado report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBroomfield County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Broomfield County.
Download county reportFull Colorado License & Permit Guide (188 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Broomfield County.
Colorado law pageFree email alerts
Broomfield County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Broomfield County, with Colorado statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Broomfield County page based on?
Where to verify Broomfield County rules
Broomfield County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Broomfield County This county | Boulder County | Weld County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute. | No specific state restriction; kitchen sanitation required | No specific state restriction; kitchen sanitation required |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Conditional | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | No | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales only at state level. Customer pickup from home allowed under home occupation rules but limited to max 2 patron vehicles at a t… | Direct sales at residence, farmers markets, roadside stands, events, online with in-state delivery only; no sales to restaurants or grocery… | Direct sales at residence, farmers markets, roadside stands, events, online with in-state delivery; no interstate shipping; no sales to res… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods. $10,000 annual cap per-product (not total revenue). Free CDPHE registration required. Insp… | Non-TCS non-refrigerated foods only; food safety course required; $10,000 per-product annual cap; direct to consumer only; labeling require… | Non-TCS non-refrigerated foods only; food safety course completion required; $10,000 per-product annual cap; direct to consumer only (no re… |
| Food storage | Non-PHF shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately. | Sanitary storage of non-TCS foods | Sanitary storage of non-TCS foods |
| Population | 73,946 | 328,658 | 331,466 |
What other Colorado counties can I compare?
Other Colorado counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Broomfield County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Colorado's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Broomfield County bakers?
Broomfield County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Broomfield County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Broomfield County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Broomfield County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Broomfield County at a glance?
File with Broomfield County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Broomfield County environmental health(cdphe.colorado.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Broomfield County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Broomfield County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Broomfield County
- Check with Broomfield County business license office
- Check with Broomfield County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
C.R.S. 25-4-1614(8) (pre-2027 text, shown as existing law… · CDPHE — Colorado cottage food act updates (Tamale Act
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Colorado
- Selling to stores: check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Broomfield County
- Check with Broomfield County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Colorado
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Broomfield County
- Check with Broomfield County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Colorado · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
Colorado · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.