Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Indiana Report Guide · 262 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Jeffersonville · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Clark County, IN

Can I sell cottage food from home in Clark County, Indiana?
Yes — Indiana allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Indiana State Department of Health and the Clark County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Clark County Permits 101 for Clark County, Indiana (71 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Clark County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Clark County?

Indiana cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Clark County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Clark County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Clark County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Clark County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Indiana cottage food rules in Clark County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Indiana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed.). Clark County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Clark County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Clark County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Indiana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Indiana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed, and the production area has not been inspected by the State Department of Health. NOT FOR RESALE.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Clark County is a county in Indiana (pop. 121,484). Under Indiana's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Indiana State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Clark County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Clark County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline applied (IN tier Great). Indiana 2022 HEA 1149 created strong protections for home-based vendors. Clark County is across the Ohio River from Louisville, KY. State preemption of local licensing/inspection is explicit. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Clark County cottage food reports

What permits in Clark County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Clark County county cottage food report
Clark County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Clark County.

Download county report
Cover of Indiana cottage food law PDF report
Indiana state report

Full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Indiana's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Indiana cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Clark County

State baseline: Ind. Code §16-42-5.3 (Home Based Food Products, enacted 2022); no sales cap; no registration; food handler cert required; direct sales only; no acidified foods in oxygen-sealed containers

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Indiana 2022 law allows home-based vendor sales of most nonperishable foods from home kitchen. No registration required; food handler certificate (ANSI-accredited) must be provided to local health department. Local governments cannot add licensing or inspection requirements.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state restriction; standard sanitation practices apply.
Water supply
Potable water required per state food safety standards.
Handwashing
Food handler certificate (ANSI-accredited course) required; must be provided to local health department.
Food storage
Nonperishable (non-PHF) products. Fermented products allowed if not in oxygen-sealed containers. Acidified foods in oxygen-sealed containers are prohibited.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Indiana state law prohibits local health departments from adding licensing or inspection requirements. Inspection only upon complaint or illness investigation.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Indiana preempts local licensing and inspection requirements for home-based vendors. Clark County and Jeffersonville city may have general home occupation zoning permits. No specific Clark County cottage food overlay found. Indiana state law is clear that local governments cannot impose additional requirements beyond zoning.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Indiana allows direct sales only: from home, online, farmers markets, events. No wholesale to restaurants or retail stores. Interstate sales and acidified foods in oxygen-sealed containers prohibited.
Max employees in home
No specific state limit; local zoning home occupation rules may apply.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Ind. Code §16-42-5.3
Local notes

State baseline applied (IN tier Great). Indiana 2022 HEA 1149 created strong protections for home-based vendors. Clark County is across the Ohio River from Louisville, KY. State preemption of local licensing/inspection is explicit.

Indiana statute (state law)

Indiana Code Title 16, Article 42, Chapter 5.3 — Home Based Food Products (enacted as HEA 1149, 2022; prior law under Chapter 5.2)

Citation: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2
Verbatim excerpt

SECTION 4. IC 16-42-5.3 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS A NEW CHAPTER Chapter 5.3. Home Based Food Products Sec. 1. (a) As used in this chapter, "end consumer" [means a] person who is the last person to purchase any food product and who does not resell the food product. Sec. 2. A person may prepare and sell food products as a home based vendor if the person complies with the requirements of this chapter. Sec. 3. The production and sale of food products by a home based vendor in accordance with this chapter are exempt from the requirements of this title that apply to food establishments. Sec. 4. A home based vendor shall prepare and sell only a food product that is [a non-potentially hazardous food]. Sec. 5. (a) A home based vendor shall include a label for packaged food or a sign for unpackaged food that contains the following information: [business name, address, product name, date produced, ingredients, net weight, and statement that product is home produced and not inspected by state department of health]. Sec. 6. (a) A home based vendor may not ship or deliver a food product to an end consumer who is located outside Indiana. Sec. 7. (a) A home based vendor shall obtain a food handler certificate from a certificate issuer that is accredited by the [American National Standards Institute]. Sec. 8. (a) A home based vendor is subject to food sampling and inspection if [there is a complaint or reason to believe a violation exists].

Source: in.gov/localhealth/unioncounty/files/2022-10-05-House-Enrolled-Act-1149-Home-Based-Vendors.pdf
Full Indiana License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Clark County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Clark County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (71 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Clark County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Clark County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Clark County, Indiana?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Indiana preempts local licensing and inspection requirements for home-based vendors. Clark County and Jeffersonville city may have general home occupation zoning permits. No specific Clark County cottage food overlay found. Indiana state law is clear that local governments cannot impose additional requirements beyond zoning. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Indiana guide at https://crosodo.com/states/indiana.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Clark County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Indiana state law prohibits local health departments from adding licensing or inspection requirements. Inspection only upon complaint or illness investigation.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Indiana cottage food law in Clark County?

Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Indiana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Indiana?

Indiana state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Clark County?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Indiana preempts local licensing and inspection requirements for home-based vendors. Clark County and Jeffersonville city may have general home occupation zoning permits. No specific Clark County cottage food overlay found. Indiana state law is clear that local governments cannot impose additional requirements beyond zoning.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Clark County vs. bordering counties

RegulationClark County
This county
Floyd CountyJefferson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state restriction; standard sanitation practices apply.Not specified in Indiana cottage food law.Not specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupIndiana allows direct sales only: from home, online, farmers markets, events. No wholesale to restaurants or retail stores. Interstate sale…Direct sales from home, online within Indiana, at events and farmers markets permitted.Products may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party …
Home occupation permitVariesVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsIndiana 2022 law allows home-based vendor sales of most nonperishable foods from home kitchen. No registration required; food handler certi…Same as all Indiana counties: no license required; food handler certificate (ANSI-accredited) provided to local health department; non-PHF …Must prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-tim…
Food storageNonperishable (non-PHF) products. Fermented products allowed if not in oxygen-sealed containers. Acidified foods in oxygen-sealed container…No specific statutory requirement.Must use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.
Population121,48480,19132,308
Crosodo Forum

Clark County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Clark County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Indiana counties

Indiana
Pop. 972K
Indiana
Pop. 498K
Indiana
Pop. 385K
Indiana
Pop. 350K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Clark County, Indiana

Reach home bakers in Clark County, Indiana. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Indiana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Clark County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.