Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Indiana Report Guide · 262 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Paoli · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Orange County, IN

Can I sell cottage food from home in Orange County, Indiana?
Yes — Indiana allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Indiana State Department of Health and the Orange County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Orange County Permits 101 for Orange County, Indiana (70 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Orange County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Orange County?

Indiana cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Orange County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Orange County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Orange County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Orange County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Indiana cottage food rules in Orange County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Indiana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed.). Orange County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Orange County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Orange County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Indiana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Indiana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed, and the production area has not been inspected by the State Department of Health. NOT FOR RESALE.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Orange County is a county in Indiana (pop. 19,768). Under Indiana's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Indiana State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Orange County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Orange County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State law (IC 16-42-5.3, enacted 2022 HEA 1149) explicitly preempts local governments from requiring licensure or inspection of home-based vendors (HBVs). ANSI-accredited food handler certificate required; must be provided to local health department. Indiana HBV Handbook 2025 confirms local zoning ordinances unrelated to food safety may still apply. Note: Indiana HB 1424 signed March 12, 2026 (effective July 1, 2026) further expands HBV rules to allow prepared foods, certain meat products, produce, natural sweeteners, baked goods, fruit spreads, and candy — changes not yet in effect as of research date. No Orange County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Defaulting to state baseline. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Orange County cottage food reports

What permits in Orange County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Orange County county cottage food report
Orange County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Orange County.

Download county report
Cover of Indiana cottage food law PDF report
Indiana state report

Full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Indiana's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Indiana cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Orange County

State baseline: Ind. Code §16-42-5.3

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-time/temperature control for safety) foods allowed. Whole eggs, traditional pickles (not oxygen-sealed), and whole chickens/rabbits raised by the vendor also allowed with restrictions.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.
Water supply
Potable water required; public water supply typical for residential use.
Handwashing
Proper handwashing required per IC 16-42-5.3 sanitary procedures.
Food storage
Must use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
State statute (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring inspection; state department of health may investigate upon complaint or foodborne illness report.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
State law (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring licensure, certification, or inspection of home-based vendor (HBV) food operations. However, local zoning ordinances for home-based businesses may still apply. Orange County zoning should be verified directly with the county for any home occupation requirements unrelated to food safety.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Products may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party carrier. All sales and shipments must remain within Indiana. No sales to warehouses, retail food establishments, or wholesalers; all sales must be direct-to-consumer.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food statute; operation must be conducted at the vendor's primary residence. Local zoning may apply.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No Orange County-specific cottage food ordinance found; state law preempts local food safety regulation of HBVs. Consult Orange County zoning ordinance for home occupation rules.
Local notes

State law (IC 16-42-5.3, enacted 2022 HEA 1149) explicitly preempts local governments from requiring licensure or inspection of home-based vendors (HBVs). ANSI-accredited food handler certificate required; must be provided to local health department. Indiana HBV Handbook 2025 confirms local zoning ordinances unrelated to food safety may still apply. Note: Indiana HB 1424 signed March 12, 2026 (effective July 1, 2026) further expands HBV rules to allow prepared foods, certain meat products, produce, natural sweeteners, baked goods, fruit spreads, and candy — changes not yet in effect as of research date. No Orange County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Defaulting to state baseline.

Indiana statute (state law)

Indiana Code Title 16, Article 42, Chapter 5.3 — Home Based Food Products (enacted as HEA 1149, 2022; prior law under Chapter 5.2)

Citation: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2
Verbatim excerpt

SECTION 4. IC 16-42-5.3 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS A NEW CHAPTER Chapter 5.3. Home Based Food Products Sec. 1. (a) As used in this chapter, "end consumer" [means a] person who is the last person to purchase any food product and who does not resell the food product. Sec. 2. A person may prepare and sell food products as a home based vendor if the person complies with the requirements of this chapter. Sec. 3. The production and sale of food products by a home based vendor in accordance with this chapter are exempt from the requirements of this title that apply to food establishments. Sec. 4. A home based vendor shall prepare and sell only a food product that is [a non-potentially hazardous food]. Sec. 5. (a) A home based vendor shall include a label for packaged food or a sign for unpackaged food that contains the following information: [business name, address, product name, date produced, ingredients, net weight, and statement that product is home produced and not inspected by state department of health]. Sec. 6. (a) A home based vendor may not ship or deliver a food product to an end consumer who is located outside Indiana. Sec. 7. (a) A home based vendor shall obtain a food handler certificate from a certificate issuer that is accredited by the [American National Standards Institute]. Sec. 8. (a) A home based vendor is subject to food sampling and inspection if [there is a complaint or reason to believe a violation exists].

Source: in.gov/localhealth/unioncounty/files/2022-10-05-House-Enrolled-Act-1149-Home-Based-Vendors.pdf
Full Indiana License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Orange County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Orange County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (70 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Orange County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Orange County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Orange County, Indiana?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. State law (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring licensure, certification, or inspection of home-based vendor (HBV) food operations. However, local zoning ordinances for home-based businesses may still apply. Orange County zoning should be verified directly with the county for any home occupation requirements unrelated to food safety. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Indiana guide at https://crosodo.com/states/indiana.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Orange County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: State statute (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring inspection; state department of health may investigate upon complaint or foodborne illness report.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Indiana cottage food law in Orange County?

Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Indiana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Indiana?

Indiana state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Orange County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. State law (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring licensure, certification, or inspection of home-based vendor (HBV) food operations. However, local zoning ordinances for home-based businesses may still apply. Orange County zoning should be verified directly with the county for any home occupation requirements unrelated to food safety.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Orange County vs. bordering counties

RegulationOrange County
This county
Washington CountyCrawford County
Home kitchen allowedYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law; good sanitary practices required.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupProducts may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party …Direct-to-consumer only. Sales allowed in person, by phone, online, or via third-party carrier within Indiana. No interstate shipping. No w…
Home occupation permitConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVaries
RestrictionsMust prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-tim…Indiana home-based vendor law (IC 16-42-5.3, amended 2022 via HEA 1149) allows sales of non-TCS foods from primary residence. No routine in…
Food storageMust use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.Non-TCS (shelf-stable) foods only; proper sanitary storage required.
Population19,64628,13310,511
Crosodo Forum

Orange County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Orange County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Indiana counties

Indiana
Pop. 972K
Indiana
Pop. 498K
Indiana
Pop. 385K
Indiana
Pop. 350K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Orange County, Indiana

Reach home bakers in Orange County, Indiana. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Indiana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Orange County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.