crosodo
County · Seat: Versailles · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Ripley County, IN

Inside the permit report

What's in the Ripley County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Ripley County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Ripley County
Table of contents
Your Ripley County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Ripley County?

All products in Indiana →
More Ripley County resources
What's new for Indiana cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Ripley County?
Start here

How to start in Ripley County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Indiana cottage food rules in Ripley County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Indiana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed.). Ripley County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Ripley County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Ripley County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Indiana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Indiana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed, and the production area has not been inspected by the State Department of Health. NOT FOR RESALE.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Indiana county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Indiana county rules quiz

Ripley County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Indiana statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Ripley County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Ripley County cottage food rules with Indiana agencies?

Ripley County is a county in Indiana (pop. 28,990). Under Indiana's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Indiana State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Ripley County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Ripley County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State law (IC 16-42-5.3, enacted 2022 HEA 1149) explicitly preempts local governments from requiring licensure or inspection of home-based vendors (HBVs). ANSI-accredited food handler certificate required; must be provided to local health department. Indiana HBV Handbook 2025 confirms local zoning ordinances unrelated to food safety may still apply. Note: Indiana HB 1424 signed March 12, 2026 (effective July 1, 2026) further expands HBV rules to allow prepared foods, certain meat products, produce, natural sweeteners, baked goods, fruit spreads, and candy — changes not yet in effect as of research date. No Ripley County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Defaulting to state baseline. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Ripley County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Indiana's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Indiana cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Ripley County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Ripley County

State baseline: Ind. Code §16-42-5.3

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-time/temperature control for safety) foods allowed. Whole eggs, traditional pickles (not oxygen-sealed), and whole chickens/rabbits raised by the vendor also allowed with restrictions.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.
Water supply
Potable water required; public water supply typical for residential use.
Handwashing
Proper handwashing required per IC 16-42-5.3 sanitary procedures.
Food storage
Must use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
State statute (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring inspection; state department of health may investigate upon complaint or foodborne illness report.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
State law (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring licensure, certification, or inspection of home-based vendor (HBV) food operations. However, local zoning ordinances for home-based businesses may still apply. Ripley County zoning should be verified directly with the county for any home occupation requirements unrelated to food safety.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Products may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party carrier. All sales and shipments must remain within Indiana. No sales to warehouses, retail food establishments, or wholesalers; all sales must be direct-to-consumer.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food statute; operation must be conducted at the vendor's primary residence. Local zoning may apply.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No Ripley County-specific cottage food ordinance found; state law preempts local food safety regulation of HBVs. Consult Ripley County zoning ordinance for home occupation rules.
Local notes

State law (IC 16-42-5.3, enacted 2022 HEA 1149) explicitly preempts local governments from requiring licensure or inspection of home-based vendors (HBVs). ANSI-accredited food handler certificate required; must be provided to local health department. Indiana HBV Handbook 2025 confirms local zoning ordinances unrelated to food safety may still apply. Note: Indiana HB 1424 signed March 12, 2026 (effective July 1, 2026) further expands HBV rules to allow prepared foods, certain meat products, produce, natural sweeteners, baked goods, fruit spreads, and candy — changes not yet in effect as of research date. No Ripley County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Defaulting to state baseline.

What does the Indiana cottage food statute say?
Indiana statute (state law)

Indiana Code Title 16, Article 42, Chapter 5.3 — Home Based Food Products (enacted as HEA 1149, 2022; prior law under Chapter 5.2) Additional homestead vendor / small farm vendor path added by HEA 1424 / Public Law 163 (2026).

Citation: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2
Verbatim excerpt

SECTION 4. IC 16-42-5.3 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS A NEW CHAPTER Chapter 5.3. Home Based Food Products Sec. 1. (a) As used in this chapter, "end consumer" [means a] person who is the last person to purchase any food product and who does not resell the food product. Sec. 2. A person may prepare and sell food products as a home based vendor if the person complies with the requirements of this chapter. Sec. 3. The production and sale of food products by a home based vendor in accordance with this chapter are exempt from the requirements of this title that apply to food establishments. Sec. 4. A home based vendor shall prepare and sell only a food product that is [a non-potentially hazardous food]. Sec. 5. (a) A home based vendor shall include a label for packaged food or a sign for unpackaged food that contains the following information: [business name, address, product name, date produced, ingredients, net weight, and statement that product is home produced and not inspected by state department of health]. Sec. 6. (a) A home based vendor may not ship or deliver a food product to an end consumer who is located outside Indiana. Sec. 7. (a) A home based vendor shall obtain a food handler certificate from a certificate issuer that is accredited by the [American National Standards Institute]. Sec. 8. (a) A home based vendor is subject to food sampling and inspection if [there is a complaint or reason to believe a violation exists].

Source: in.gov/localhealth/unioncounty/files/2022-10-05-House-Enrolled-Act-1149-Home-Based-Vendors.pdf →
Full Indiana License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Ripley County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Ripley County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Ripley County, Indiana?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Ripley County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Ripley County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Ripley County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Ripley County. Ask Ripley County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Indiana?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Ripley County?

Apply through Ripley County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Ripley County, Indiana — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Indiana cottage food law in Ripley County?

Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Indiana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Ripley County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: State statute (IC 16-42-5.3 Sec. 12) expressly prohibits local governments from requiring inspection; state department of health may investigate upon complaint or foodborne illness report.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Ripley County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Indiana report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Ripley County cottage food reports

What permits in Ripley County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Ripley County county cottage food report
Ripley County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Ripley County.

Download county report
Cover of Indiana cottage food law PDF report
Indiana state report

Full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Ripley County.

Indiana law page

Free email alerts

Ripley County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Ripley County, with Indiana statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Ripley County page based on?
Quick comparison

Ripley County vs. bordering counties

RegulationRipley County
This county
Jennings CountyDecatur County
Home kitchen allowedYesYes—
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNo—
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.Not specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.—
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaint—
On-site customer pickupYesYes—
On-site signageConditionalConditional—
Delivery / pickupProducts may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party …Products may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party …—
Home occupation permitConditionalConditional—
Local business licenseVariesVaries—
RestrictionsMust prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-tim…Must prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-tim…—
Food storageMust use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.Must use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.—
Population28,32427,73526,432
What other Indiana counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Indiana counties

Indiana
Pop. 972K
Indiana
Pop. 498K
Indiana
Pop. 385K
Indiana
Pop. 350K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Ripley County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Indiana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Ripley County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Ripley County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Ripley County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Ripley County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Ripley County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Ripley County, Indiana?
Yes — Indiana allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Indiana State Department of Health and the Ripley County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Ripley County?
Your Ripley County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Ripley County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Ripley County? State vs county rules and pets
Indiana rule (statewide)Ripley County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Ripley County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Ripley County

    • Check with Ripley County business license office
    • Check with Ripley County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Indiana Department of Health — Home Based Vendors FAQ

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Indiana

    • Selling to stores: check with Indiana State Department of Health

    Ripley County

    • Check with Ripley County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Indiana

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Indiana State Department of Health

    Ripley County

    • Check with Ripley County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Indiana · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Indiana State Department of Health.

    Indiana · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Indiana State Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.