Cottage food law & license in Frederick County, MD
What's in the Frederick County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Frederick County?
More Frederick County resources
What's new for Maryland cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Frederick County?
How to start in Frederick County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Maryland cottage food rules in Frederick County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Maryland cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted.). Frederick County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Frederick County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Frederick County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Maryland disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Maryland label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Frederick County rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Test yourself on Frederick County rules
A free 10-question quiz generated from verified Frederick County and Maryland data. Pass at 80% for a Crosodo Verified badge.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Frederick County cottage food rules with Maryland agencies?
Frederick County is a county in Maryland (pop. 273,829). Under Maryland's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Maryland Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Frederick County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Frederick County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Frederick County Health Department has a dedicated Cottage Food Business page (health.frederickcountymd.gov/681) confirming program exists at county level and follows Maryland state rules. County zoning bill document (Bill No. 23-21) confirmed the home occupation provisions in §1-19-8.240 of the Frederick County Zoning Ordinance. CityRuleLookup confirms home occupation permit required, business license required, and $50K MD state cap applies. Maryland state COMAR 10.15.03.27 is the operative regulation. due to specific county health department URL found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Frederick County?
Tier: Good
Maryland has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Maryland cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Frederick County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Frederick County
State baseline: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-potentially hazardous foods only; $50,000 annual sales cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)); must operate from a residential kitchen. Optional free ID number from MDH (required only if selling through retail stores). Frederick County Health Department has a dedicated Cottage Food Business page. Home occupation permit required for zoning compliance.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified at county level; state rules require sanitary production environment
- Water supply
- Public water or private well; private well water testing required
- Handwashing
- Adequate handwashing facilities required per state sanitation standards
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only; standard food storage requirements apply
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Complaint or foodborne illness investigation
- Home occupation permit
- Yes
- Permit details
- Frederick County Zoning Ordinance (Chapter 1-19) requires home occupation permit for residential-zone businesses. Maryland is a Dillon's Rule state — municipalities need specific zoning authority. Home occupation must be secondary to residential use; no external signage, limited employees, limited customer visits.
- Local business license
- Yes
- On-site customer pickup
- Conditional
- On-site signage
- No
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales to end consumers; indirect sales (retail stores) allowed with MDH ID number and food handler certification. No wholesale via brokers. Sales must remain within Maryland.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state rules; home occupation ordinance limits non-resident employees
- Relevant code section
- Frederick County Code Ch. 1-19 (Zoning Ordinance), §1-19-8.240 (Accessory Uses); health.frederickcountymd.gov/681/Cottage-Food-Business
Frederick County Health Department has a dedicated Cottage Food Business page (health.frederickcountymd.gov/681) confirming program exists at county level and follows Maryland state rules. County zoning bill document (Bill No. 23-21) confirmed the home occupation provisions in §1-19-8.240 of the Frederick County Zoning Ordinance. CityRuleLookup confirms home occupation permit required, business license required, and $50K MD state cap applies. Maryland state COMAR 10.15.03.27 is the operative regulation. due to specific county health department URL found.
What does the Maryland cottage food statute say?
Code of Maryland Regulations 10.15.03.27 - Farmer's Market, Bake Sales, and Cottage Food Business
Full Maryland License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptA. A cottage food business may offer for sale the homemade foods specified in §B of this regulation when the foods are: (1) Made in a private home kitchen; and (2) Offered or sold only in the State: (a) Subject to the requirements of §C(6) and (7) of this regulation, at a retail food store; or (b) Directly to a consumer: (i) At a farmer's market; (ii) At a bake sale; (iii) At a public event; (iv) By personal delivery; or (v) By mail order. B. The Department shall allow the preparation and sale of the following foods in accordance with §A: (1) Non-potentially hazardous hot-filled canned acid fruit jellies, jams, preserves, and butters; (2) Fruit butters made only from apples, apricots, grapes, peaches, plums, prunes, quince, or another fruit or fruit mixture that will produce an acid canned food; (4) Non-potentially hazardous baked goods; (6) Non-potentially hazardous candy. C. (1) The Department shall allow the owner of a cottage food business to sell only cottage food products processed and packaged in Maryland that are: (a) Produced or packaged in a residential kitchen; (b) Stored on the premises of the cottage food business; and (c) Prepackaged with a label that contains: name and address of the cottage food business or name, phone number, and identification number assigned by the Department; name of the product; ingredients in descending order by weight; net weight or volume; allergen information; nutritional information if any claim is made; and printed in 10 point or larger type: "Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (6) Before the owner of a cottage food business may sell a cottage food product to a retail food store, the owner shall submit to the Department documentation of the owner's successful completion of a food safety course in the past 3 years approved by the Department and the American National Standards Institute.
Source: regs.maryland.gov/us/md/exec/comar/10.15.03.27 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Frederick County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFrederick County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Frederick County, Maryland?
Home occupation permit: Yes. Frederick County Zoning Ordinance (Chapter 1-19) requires home occupation permit for residential-zone businesses. Maryland is a Dillon's Rule state — municipalities need specific zoning authority. Home occupation must be secondary to residential use; no external signage, limited employees, limited customer visits. State cottage food registration may also apply.
What cottage food path applies in Frederick County?
Maryland cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Frederick County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Frederick County. Ask Frederick County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Maryland?
$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Frederick County?
Apply via Frederick County environmental health (health.frederickcountymd.gov). Official link: https://health.frederickcountymd.gov/681/Cottage-Food-Business. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Maryland cottage food law in Frederick County?
Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Maryland, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Frederick County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint or foodborne illness investigation. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Maryland report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFrederick County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Frederick County.
Download county reportFull Maryland License & Permit Guide (82 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Frederick County.
Maryland law pageFree email alerts
Frederick County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Frederick County, with Maryland statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Frederick County page based on?
Where to verify Frederick County rules
Frederick County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Frederick County This county | Howard County | Carroll County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified at county level; state rules require sanitary production environment | Standard sanitation applies; no specific state pet rule | No explicit state restriction; MDH guidelines address sanitation standards. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Conditional | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | No | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales to end consumers; indirect sales (retail stores) allowed with MDH ID number and food handler certification. No wholesale via b… | Direct to consumer at home, farmers markets, events, online (Maryland only); wholesale to grocers requires MDH compliance letter; no out-of… | Direct sales at home (limited customer visits per zoning), online within Maryland, and limited indirect sales to retail stores with ANSI fo… |
| Home occupation permit | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Local business license | Yes | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-potentially hazardous foods only; $50,000 annual sales cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)); must operate from a residential kitchen. Optiona… | Non-TCS non-perishable foods only; $50,000 annual gross sales cap; labeling required; MDH compliance letter required for wholesale/grocery … | Annual revenue cap $50,000. Non-potentially hazardous foods only — no acidified foods, pickles, salsas, ketchup, mustard, or fermented food… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only; standard food storage requirements apply | Shelf-stable foods stored in sanitary conditions | Shelf-stable storage; no refrigerated products allowed. |
| Population | 273,829 | 332,011 | 173,225 |
What other Maryland counties can I compare?
Other Maryland counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Frederick County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Maryland's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Frederick County bakers?
Frederick County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Frederick County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Frederick County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Frederick County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Frederick County at a glance?
File with Frederick County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Frederick County environmental health(health.frederickcountymd.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Frederick County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Frederick County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Frederick County
- Check with Frederick County business license office
- Check with Frederick County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
MDH Guidelines for Cottage Food Businesses (September 2025 · Maryland Chapter 320 (HB0535T) — Health – General §21-301…
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Maryland
- Selling to stores: check with Maryland Department of Health
Frederick County
- Check with Frederick County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Maryland
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Maryland Department of Health
Frederick County
- Check with Frederick County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Maryland · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Maryland Department of Health.
Maryland · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Maryland Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.