crosodo
County · Seat: Hagerstown · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Washington County, MD

Inside the permit report

What's in the Washington County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Washington County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Washington County
Table of contents
Your Washington County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Washington County?

All products in Maryland →
More Washington County resources
What's new for Maryland cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Washington County?
Start here

How to start in Washington County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Maryland cottage food rules in Washington County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Maryland cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted.). Washington County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Washington County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Washington County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Maryland disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Maryland label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Maryland county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Maryland county rules quiz

Washington County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Maryland statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Washington County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Washington County cottage food rules with Maryland agencies?

Washington County is a county in Maryland (pop. 154,645). Under Maryland's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Maryland Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Washington County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Washington County: home kitchen restricted; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline governs. Maryland's emergency rule (last amended November 2024) applies. Separate On-Farm Home Processing License available for pickles/dried fruit/hot sauces up to $40,000. No Washington County-specific cottage food code identified. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Washington County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Maryland has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Maryland cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Washington County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Washington County

State baseline: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Conditional
Restrictions
Maryland allows cottage food from residential kitchens. Annual sales cap $50,000 (per COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)). Registration optional (free online ID number) unless selling at retail stores (food handler cert required for retail channel). Complaint-based inspection only. Allowed: non-PHF baked goods, non-PHF candy, acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves, butters from enumerated fruits, dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas), certain snacks (kettle corn, granola).
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state restriction on pets in home for standard cottage food sales.
Water supply
No specific requirement under Maryland cottage food law.
Handwashing
Good manufacturing practices apply.
Food storage
Non-PHF foods only. No pickles, salsas, acidified foods, pickled products, or fermented foods unless via separate On-Farm Home Processing License.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Maryland DOH may inspect upon complaint or suspected foodborne illness.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Washington County may require a home occupation permit under local zoning for commercial activity at a residence. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Sales at farmers markets, from home, at events, at roadside stands, and to retail stores. Online sales and mail-order available for direct channel. Limited indirect retail sales allowed.
Max employees in home
Not specified by state law; local home occupation rules may apply.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Washington County Zoning Ordinance; MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
Local notes

State baseline governs. Maryland's emergency rule (last amended November 2024) applies. Separate On-Farm Home Processing License available for pickles/dried fruit/hot sauces up to $40,000. No Washington County-specific cottage food code identified.

What does the Maryland cottage food statute say?
Maryland statute (state law)

Code of Maryland Regulations 10.15.03.27 - Farmer's Market, Bake Sales, and Cottage Food Business

Citation: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
Verbatim excerpt

A. A cottage food business may offer for sale the homemade foods specified in §B of this regulation when the foods are: (1) Made in a private home kitchen; and (2) Offered or sold only in the State: (a) Subject to the requirements of §C(6) and (7) of this regulation, at a retail food store; or (b) Directly to a consumer: (i) At a farmer's market; (ii) At a bake sale; (iii) At a public event; (iv) By personal delivery; or (v) By mail order. B. The Department shall allow the preparation and sale of the following foods in accordance with §A: (1) Non-potentially hazardous hot-filled canned acid fruit jellies, jams, preserves, and butters; (2) Fruit butters made only from apples, apricots, grapes, peaches, plums, prunes, quince, or another fruit or fruit mixture that will produce an acid canned food; (4) Non-potentially hazardous baked goods; (6) Non-potentially hazardous candy. C. (1) The Department shall allow the owner of a cottage food business to sell only cottage food products processed and packaged in Maryland that are: (a) Produced or packaged in a residential kitchen; (b) Stored on the premises of the cottage food business; and (c) Prepackaged with a label that contains: name and address of the cottage food business or name, phone number, and identification number assigned by the Department; name of the product; ingredients in descending order by weight; net weight or volume; allergen information; nutritional information if any claim is made; and printed in 10 point or larger type: "Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (6) Before the owner of a cottage food business may sell a cottage food product to a retail food store, the owner shall submit to the Department documentation of the owner's successful completion of a food safety course in the past 3 years approved by the Department and the American National Standards Institute.

Source: regs.maryland.gov/us/md/exec/comar/10.15.03.27 →
Full Maryland License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Washington County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Washington County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Washington County, Maryland?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Washington County may require a home occupation permit under local zoning for commercial activity at a residence. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified. State cottage food registration may also apply.

What cottage food path applies in Washington County?

Maryland cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Washington County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Washington County. Ask Washington County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Maryland?

$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Washington County?

Apply through Washington County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Washington County, Maryland — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Maryland cottage food law in Washington County?

Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Maryland, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Washington County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Maryland DOH may inspect upon complaint or suspected foodborne illness.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Washington County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Maryland report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Washington County cottage food reports

What permits in Washington County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Washington County county cottage food report
Washington County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Washington County.

Download county report
Cover of Maryland cottage food law PDF report
Maryland state report

Full Maryland License & Permit Guide (82 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Washington County.

Maryland law page

Free email alerts

Washington County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Washington County, with Maryland statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Washington County page based on?
Quick comparison

Washington County vs. bordering counties

RegulationWashington County
This county
Allegany CountyFrederick County
Home kitchen allowedConditionalYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state restriction on pets in home for standard cottage food sales.No pets in kitchen during production (standard health code practice)Not specified at county level; state rules require sanitary production environment
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalNo
Delivery / pickupSales at farmers markets, from home, at events, at roadside stands, and to retail stores. Online sales and mail-order available for direct …Limited indirect sales at markets and events; direct delivery permittedDirect sales to end consumers; indirect sales (retail stores) allowed with MDH ID number and food handler certification. No wholesale via b…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesYes
Local business licenseVariesVariesYes
RestrictionsMaryland allows cottage food from residential kitchens. Annual sales cap $50,000 (per COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)). Registration optional (fre…Annual sales cap $50,000. Food handler certification recommended but not strictly required. Inspection upon complaint only. Registration re…Non-potentially hazardous foods only; $50,000 annual sales cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)); must operate from a residential kitchen. Optiona…
Food storageNon-PHF foods only. No pickles, salsas, acidified foods, pickled products, or fermented foods unless via separate On-Farm Home Processing L…Non-PHF shelf-stable products; appropriate storage requiredNon-TCS shelf-stable foods only; standard food storage requirements apply
Population154,64568,161273,829
What other Maryland counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Maryland counties

Maryland
Pop. 1.06M
Maryland
Pop. 957K
Maryland
Pop. 851K
Maryland
Pop. 588K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Washington County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Maryland's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Washington County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Washington County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Washington County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Washington County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Washington County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Washington County, Maryland?
Yes — Maryland allows cottage food sales. $100,000 annual sales cap. Local zoning is usually the main extra check beyond state law. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Maryland Department of Health and the Washington County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Washington County?
Your Washington County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Washington County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Washington County? State vs county rules and pets
Maryland rule (statewide)Washington County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Washington County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Washington County

    • Check with Washington County business license office
    • Check with Washington County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    MDH Guidelines for Cottage Food Businesses (September 2025 · Maryland Chapter 320 (HB0535T) — Health – General §21-301…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Maryland

    • Selling to stores: check with Maryland Department of Health

    Washington County

    • Check with Washington County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Maryland

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Maryland Department of Health

    Washington County

    • Check with Washington County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Maryland · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Maryland Department of Health.

    Maryland · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Maryland Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.